5 Reasons For Me To Manifest My Dream Job

Image

Preface: I make fun of people who use the word “manifest” a lot. Most of the people using that word barely even understand what it means. They basically use it as a way to mooch off anyone surrounding them and get free stuff. Shut Up Hippie. A Dictionary puts it best: “Manifest – How the enlightened mooch from their friends.” For example, this one that I see all to often, “I’m trying to manifest some tickets to [insert any washed up music festival here]. Can anyone help me out with tickets? And a ride? And a place to stay? And maybe free drugs too?”

But I do believe strongly in the power of thought, and that whatever you focus on grows. I’ve had experiences where something seemed impossible or unattainable, but once I started focusing only on achieving those things they became a reality. I’ve also had experiences where I got stuck in negative thought cycles, and everything around me starting falling like dominoes in a line. I think using manifestation as a way to focus on a goal, rather than as a way to avoid doing work or actually putting effort into something, is an extremely beneficial life practice. 

I started thinking about manifestation when I started my new job. I’ve worked many jobs growing up, but I’ve never had a “career.” Everyone told me that I wanted one, but no one told me what it would be like or how I could prepare for being a “career-woman.” I also grew up constantly hearing things like “choose a job you love and you will never work a day in your life.” I have been living my entire life under the illusion that every one finds their life calling right off the bat, and that it will be easy to find a job that I’m passionate about and that inspires me to the point where I’m chomping at the bit to get started on my work every morning.

Reality check: This is a fairytale. 

It takes a lot of courage for me to admit this, but I’m scared that I don’t know what my calling is. I know that I have handfuls of skills and talents in different areas, but none of them seem to coincide. So that’s where I’m struggling. I started this career less than a month ago, and to be quite honest, I don’t love it. I don’t wake up every day excited to accomplish things. But I don’t hate it either. I just haven’t really found my niche or where I fit into the larger picture. But I’m finding solace in the fact that this job, or even this career, isn’t permanent, and I probably will not be doing this my whole life. This is a stepping stone to getting to my dream job, my perfect career that fulfills me and inspires me on a daily basis. 

So this is my manifesto to reflect and get down in words what I do want. This may not be interesting to anyone else, but at the very least I hope it will inspire some people to start manifesting as well.

  1. Gratification. It may seem selfish to put this down as my first desire, but I can’t feel fulfilled or gratified unless I’m doing work that helps others and is actively making an impact. I want to feel like what I’m doing is changing the world in some small way, and never like I’m just contributing to the clutter and noise.
  2. Creativity. I’ve come to terms with the fact that I’ll never be happy unless I’m able to express the full capacity of my creativity, and I’m completely fine living my life that way. I don’t do well with mindless tasks. I like to infuse my personality into everything that I do, and if I can’t do it passionately then I’d rather not do it at all.
  3. Writing. Tying in to the creativity aspect, I need to be in a career that’s focused on writing. Writing has always been a natural talent of mine, and I need to stay true to that tiny nagging voice in my head that always pulls me back to pen and paper when I’m feeling lost or confused. Writing is a beautiful therapeutic medium that I encourage everyone to pursue when all else seems to fail. 
  4. Travel. It’s no secret that I have a chronic case of wanderlust. I fear any situation that prevents me from leaving at the drop of the hat (which, admittedly, probably isn’t healthy, but it’s how I am and the rest of the world just has to accept that). I dream of having a career where I’m encouraged to travel and explore and have the schedule flexibility to stay on the move, or at the very least having a job where I’m frequently being sent on travel missions. I refuse to live an unhappy life wasting away behind a desk job at a traditional 9-5. I know there is something better out there.
  5. Collaboration. I’ve worked in offices where everything is a competition. Everyone is trying to get ahead and push other people down along the way. It’s not a healthy environment to be in everyday, and I don’t ever want to put myself in a situation where I can’t trust or go to my coworkers. Being able to function as a team or a family with the people I work with is crucial to me. I want to feel supported and appreciated, and reciprocate those feelings. It makes getting through the work day that much more pleasant when you’re working with like-minded individuals who are working together towards a central goal. 

So that’s my manifesto, my first step towards landing the job of my dreams. Maybe I’m crazy for wanting all these things. But I prefer to think that I’m hopeful, and that I know what I want and I’m ready to go after it. I’m taking that first step… let’s see where I go. 

3 thoughts on “5 Reasons For Me To Manifest My Dream Job

  1. Sounds like you’re a travel writer or possibly a scout for a company. I think this blog is an excellent idea to build a portfolio of writing and an audience. It is also a good way to discover what you enjoy writing about.

    • Thanks Julie! I completely agree. Travel writing is something I’ve been thinking about for awhile, but it’s a hard industry to get into.

  2. If you haven’t seen this yet, check out this site. http://chrisguillebeau.com/ He talks a lot about developing your own way in so that you don’t have to break into the industry. He did it this way and so did many travel writers, art bloggers, food bloggers etc. Two great books are “The Art of Non Comformity” and “The 100 dollar startup”

    It iiis hard not to make fun, at least a little bit, of the overuse of the word manifest. The same goes with intention. Seems like people are just throwing words around. But I know that struggle you are in, I am still navigating around the path to build very own “freedom life.”

    See you on the Road,
    C.A.

Leave a Reply

